RSS

Never been a runner

06 Mar

I have decided this summer I am going to do my first 5k.  Notice I did not say run! 

I have never been a runner.  I didn’t even like playing tag as a kid (which if you see about, weight wasn’t a problem for me then).  It’s just never been something I have enjoyed doing.  In high school I was a cheerleader and we ran a mile at the beginning of most practices and even at the end of the season I was the last one lagging behind. 

It’s not only something I have never been good at, but something I have never wanted to be good at.  Last Sunday when I sent to the gym, it was close to closing time and it was snowing so there weren’t many people there.  At one point, I was the only one in the cardio room, so I decided to give it a shot and see how long I could run.  I think I might have made it 1 minute (if that) then slowed it back down to a walk and didn’t try again. 

I don’t know what it is about running.  I can do zumba for an hour straight, I can spent 20 minutes on the elliptical with no problem, but when it comes to running 20 seconds in, I feel like I’m going to die! 

So as far as a 5k this summer goes, I’m planning on doing one that my Relay for Life team sponsors.  One of my friends has already said, which ever 5k I choose to do, she will do it with me.  I hope she is prepared for lots of walking!  I want to get to a point where by the end of the summer, I can RUN an entire 5k without stopping to walk.  Not sure it will ever happen but if I don’t challenge myself I know it will never happen.  Guess next time the gym is empty (if that ever happens again) I better try to make it longer than 1 minute, because unless I run like lightening, 1 minute won’t be nearly enough.

 

P.S. Had my weigh in this morning at Weight Watchers and was down .5#  That puts me at over 40# since October!  I’ll take it!  Especially since the stomach bug really helped to boost my weight loss last week.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Never been a runner

Leave a Reply

 
