RSS

Zumba with the Hot Chicks

07 Mar

Last night I headed out to Zumba right after work.  To insure that I get my spot in the back of the room, I got there early as usual.  Since I’m still pretty new, I’m still learning the moves and since I’m still fairly large, I don’t need anyone standing behind me while I’m shaking my giant ass.

So I go into the gym and take my spot in the back row.  On Monday the gym was packed with people and for a Wednesday it was pretty full.  As the minutes passed, more and more people squeezed into my beloved back row.  Before I knew what was happening, there was no room in my row to actually move.

I tried so hard to hold my ground in the back, but after the first song it was obvious, if I wanted to actually work out, there was not enough room and it was also obvious that no one else was moving.  The row right in front of me was just as packed, so I hauled my 220 pound ass up to the middle.  Not where I wanted to be, but where there was room.

I found myself smack in the middle of the 125-150 hot chicks in the class.  It was obvious they were long time Zumba goers since they all knew all of the moves perfectly and added their own grinding hip rolls every chance they got.

At first, I felt so uncomfortable.  I belonged in the back row with the old ladies and the newbies, not in the middle with the seasoned skinny girls.  I felt out of place and awkward.  But as the hour went on, I found myself trying harder.  I used to be one of those hot chicks.  I used to be one of the ones in top physical condition, proud of my body and didn’t think twice about shaking my ass.

One of the routine we did was to the song “Waka Waka (This is Africa) by Shakira.  It seemed so fitting for what I was thinking.  “You’re a good soldier choosing your battles.  Pick yourself up and dust yourself off, get back in the saddle.  You’re on the front line, everyone’s watching…The pressure is one, you feel it.  But you got it all, believe it.”

By the end of the class I was glad that I had found my place in the middle of the room.  I’m pretty sure I will land myself there for my next class.  It reminded me why I want to get in shape again, how I used to look and how I will look again.  I want to be one of those girls in my Zumba class that other people look at and think, “Wow!  She’s a hot chick,” (maybe not in those exact words).

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Zumba with the Hot Chicks

  1. hannahjrich

    March 7, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    I too went to a zumba class yesterday after work and tried to stand in the back with no luck. It is intimidating and awkward to be one of the only “fat girls” in the room but I started saying to myself, “Hey, at least I’m here. At least I’m getting out there and trying to better myself!” And I had a BLAST doing it! I love zumba! GO US! We should be proud of ourselves! 🙂 I’m definitely going to follow your blog!

     
  2. 321pounds

    March 7, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    Awesome! My 255lb bootie is in the front row every class regardless of the room. Things are shaking and moving every which way but there’s plenty of room and the fun is unreal! Keep in mind that the row hierarchy is only in the mind. The ones that are most likely to succeed are fearless. Keep moving towards the front, that’s where you’ll learn and get results fastest. Forget appearances and rise above the rest, you’ll be glad you did and you’ll inspire others by just trying. Imagine the day when you’ll create a revolution and the room is one big mix of skill levels and body types, doesn’t that sound great!?!?
    Keep up the good work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
