RSS

Time to Hide the Scale

08 Mar

So I’ve been going to the gym rather religiously the last few weeks and while I tried not to be I was kinda disappointed when I stepped on the scale at weight watchers the other day and I had only lost a half a pound.

In the meantime, at home, I have a scale that sits right in front of the toilet in the bathroom.  According to it, I am up to almost the same weight I was 2 weeks ago!  Wait?  How did that happen?!  I’ve been working so hard.  I know muscle weighs more than fat (see It’s Not About the Numbers…right?) but to be putting in all this hard work and not seeing the numbers on the scale change is frustrating.  I mean, no matter what I say, I’m working so hard to step on the scale and see a number below 200 and if working out is making me gain, I feel like that’s never going to happen.

I have been assured I’m toning, which sounds great, except at 220 pounds, who can see tone?  I know I can’t!  I must step on the scale 4 times a day and think, “Are you kidding me?!”

I actually had a passing moment where I thought I might be better off to take a few days off from the gym.  Zumba for tonight was cancelled as was tomorrow morning for an event taking place in the gym, and I thought to myself, maybe if I skip out and take a break until Monday, my body will catch up with me.  After giving it some serious thought I decided Thursday-Sunday off was not the answer and I hauled my butt out of work this morning for an early zumba session, before heading back to work (it was amazing, only like 15 people there.  I might start going Friday mornings more often).

So I’ve decided, it’s time to move the scale.  If it is right in front of my feet every time I go in the bathroom I will be inclined to step on it.  If I actually have to dig it out, it will (hopefully) make my at home weigh ins fewer and further between.  My goal for the rest of the week is not to step on the scale until Wednesday morning at weight watchers.

I know what I’m doing is good for me and good for my body, and while I’m working to get my weight down, I’m working to be around more for my kids and my husband and to be an active mommy and if I’m gaining weight in the process (hope I’m not) at least I’m gaining my health.  Wish me luck!  This could be a tough challenge.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
