RSS

Knew it would hapen eventually

13 Mar

Had my first gain today since I started Weight Watchers in October.  It was only .2 pounds, but still.  One the bar graph .2 pounds of weight loss looks so small but when it’s a gain, it looks huge!  I knew it was coming and it was only a matter of time before it happened, I was just hoping it would be when I was a whole lot closer to my goal.

I know .2 pounds seems like nothing to some people.  Maybe if I hadn’t had pickles on my sandwich yesterday, or had a little less sodium throughout the day, but to me .2 pounds is a big deal!  That’s how I go here.  .2 pounds here, a pound there all added up to 262 pounds.  It scares me how hard it has been to drop the 40 pounds I have and how easy it is to gain, and how easy it is to hit a wall.

I also have to remind myself that I’m doing what’s best for my body.  While I want to fit into smaller clothes, that number on the scale is a huge motivation for me.  That is the most obvious place you see all your hard work pay off.  It’s even more frustrating that I stuck to my points like it was my job and spent more than 3 1/2 hours exercising last week.

Last night I spent some time talking to a good friend whom I haven’t talked to in way too long (she introduced me to my husband and how we had let so much time go by without talking, I don’t know).  She is a nutritionist and I needed to rack her brain about how I can get the full weight loss potential from my workouts.  She had a few things for me to try and I thought I’d share them on here.

First, even though fruit and most veggies are no points, there are calories in them.  She suggested adding at least 1 piece of fruit per day to give my body something to burn.  Of course while I know there is no way at 220 pounds my body is starving, it doesn’t and I have totally shocked my system theses last few months and especially the last few weeks with working out.

Next she suggested avocado.  While it is kinda high in fat it is good fat.  It would be a way to use some of the activity points (for those that don’t know you can earn points by working out) I’m earning without having to really eat more.  While this is a suggestion I won’t be following, I still thought I would share.  Don’t know why, but avocado reminds me of vomit!  YUCK!

Next, one of the more obvious ones, DRINK MORE WATER!  I am not a water drinker.  I struggle to get in the recommended 64 ounces on any given day, let alone the days where I should up my water intake for added physical activity.  I’m lucky if I get to 48 ounces a day.  I know it would be better for me and now here is my motivation, staring me in the face on the scale.

Another suggestion was to drink some chocolate milk right after a work out.  Something about the sugar in the chocolate and the protein in the milk… she did suggest making it with skim milk and with the syrup or the powder so I could be sure I’m not getting too much.

There was a lot more chit chat than that, but those are the basics.  Between catching up and the boys screaming in the back ground, my brain could only hold so much information.  I could tell you more about her job, her apartment and her boyfriend, since those are the other things I retained, but I’m not sure she would appreciate it.

So here I am.  Ready to start another week.  I am doing what I can, and I try to remind myself daily, it’s not those silly little numbers (I wish they were little, that’s the problem) on a scale, it is how I feel, and I feel good, except for when those damn numbers appear.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Knew it would hapen eventually

  1. Theresa

    March 13, 2013 at 4:35 pm

    She has some great advice! I would say listen to her :). You can sneak avocado in a lot of things. Try it as a thin spread on sandwiches, you won’t even notice it’s there! Just be careful cuz it goes bad really quickly (as in it oxidizes), so you may want to try your hand at quac it sure is tasty, just close your eyes and enjoy it with your mouth? Unless it’s a texture thing then I can’t help you there, lol.

    And yay for chocolate milk! I know I’m going to be utilizing it in my exercise routine here pretty soon, let me know how it works out!

     

Leave a Reply

 
