RSS

Never Been a Runner Part 2

17 Mar

A while ago I posted a blog about the fact that I have never been a runner.  It has never been something I enjoyed and most certainly never something I’ve been good at.

I made a goal to do a 5k this year and I signed up to do one on April 7th.  Last week I went for my first run since high school taking it nice and slow.  SLOW being a key word there.

Today I went again and went a little further this time and was actually able to run a good portion of the uphills.

After my run, my running buddy mentioned a 5k she is doing on the 30th and planted the seed that I should consider it.  This race is known for being flat.  Perfect for me!  If there is one thing I hate more than running, it’s running hills.  She also gave me a book to read about how exercise is largely mental.

On my way home, I decided, I’m going to go for it!  I have never been a runner, but it’s time to reprogram my brain.  I can be a runner, I can complete a 5k and before the season is over, I CAN RUN THE ENTIRE THING!  I can, and I will.

When I started gaining weight, at first I didn’t see it as a problem, and by the time I did, I thought I was too fat to be able to be as active as I needed to be to get the weight off.  I know, way to make excuses, right?  I was so heavy that my feet hurt, my back hurt, my knees hurt…well, you get the picture.

Something I have learned in the past few weeks is that I could have done it.  I could have gotten my ass off the couch and gone for a walk or a run or to zumba.  I could have stopped it before it got to the 262 pounds that it did.  I have control over my body, not the other way around, just like I have the control to keep my legs moving when my lungs and muscles are screaming at me to stop.

I need to start having some faith in myself.  Gaining back my confidence is going to start at the starting line next Saturday.  And my husband and my boys will be there to cheer me on, and while I never thought I would say this, I’m looking forward to it!

I am a runner!  And as cheesy as it sounds, I am anything I want to be.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Never Been a Runner Part 2

Leave a Reply

 
