RSS

Lunge-Ouch

18 Mar

I woke up this morning feeling super excited that I was not at all sore from my run!  Last week, it took me about 4 days to feel even remotely “normal” again.  It felt really great knowing my body had already adjusted to that activity and was handling it better than it had last week.

So I headed to the gym for my orientation with one of the trainers.  Confident in my strength and previous progress, I looked at the list she gave me for lower body days and thought, “Well that doesn’t look that hard.”  I was wrong!

The goal of my workouts is to keep my heart rate up so I can burn fat since I’m still working to shed lots of pounds.  Half-way into the set, I was sweating and def burning some calories.

A lot of the reps are things I can do at home, which is pretty amazing, since it is not always easy to get to the gym whenever I want to since I have 2 little ones at home.  My set starts with 12 leg presses at 135 pounds, followed by 12 squats, 12 Pilates squats (with toes turned out), followed by switch lunges (lunge with one leg, then jumping to a lunge on the other leg…this is still something I’m trying to get the coordination to do without falling over), calf hops then an ab machine crunch, curl thingy, then repeat 4 times.

Not sure if it was the 2 sets I had time to do today, or the running yesterday or a combination of both, but my legs are SCREAMING!  Steps are not my friend and I work on the second floor of a non-handicap accessible building.  If I hop down the steps, I’m good, any bending at the knees; not so much!

Can’t imagine what it will be like the first day I make it through all 4 reps!  I’m really looking forward to ZUMBA tonight so I can loosen up those thigh muscles.  They certainly need it!

In the meantime, thanks to Kim for setting me up with a workout that I’m pretty sure is going to be just what I need to keep me moving in the right direction.  While my legs hate you right now, they will love you this summer when they’re looking much more slender in a bathing suit.

Best words of wisdom I got today: when I said I wanted to get rid of what I lovingly refer to as my kangaroo pouch from having 2 babies (I will often refer to it as my fat flap, anyone who has seen the movie “Click” with Adam Sandler will understand the reference), she said, “Cardio, cardio, cardio!  People think that doing a bunch of ab exercises will do it, but we all have abs under there somewhere, we just have to find them!”

Here’s to finding my abs and making it through the day having to go up and down the stairs!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One response to “Lunge-Ouch

  1. Mentoring Movement

    March 18, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    Hang in there! Getting started and getting your body accustomed to working out is the hardest part. Keep up the great work!

     

Leave a Reply

 
