RSS

I ate it! I ate it all!

21 Mar

I have been doing weight watchers for about 6 months and today was my first splurge.

Not like it was that bad, but then why do I feel so guilty?

I’m one of those people who rarely eats my flex points (weight watchers you get a daily allotment of points and some weekly extras to use on whatever you want, known as flex points) and I hardly ever eat my activity points (extra points you get for exercising).  I guess I feel like I have plenty to lose and so I get plenty of points during the day so I don’t use them.  I’m so afraid I will either gain or not lose by eating those points and I feel like it’s a waste of exercise if I just eat it so I just don’t do it.

Today started like any other day.  I was planning on Chinese for dinner so I ate light for most of the day.  I was doing really well.  I had my hubby grab my dinner on his lunch break so I could fill my Chinese craving in its entirety, so I had my egg roll and crab rangoon for lunch so I’d have enough points for my rice and chicken and broccoli for dinner.

That was an excellent plan, until my hubby decided he wanted to do pizza for his dinner, and it spiraled from there.  I ate the topping off one piece of pizza (I’m a sucker for melty, greasy cheese) after eating my Chinese.  That wouldn’t have been so bad.  I was only over my daily points by about 4.

So not 20 minutes later, my parents stopped by and left their left over KFC for my oldest.  He decided he didn’t want it, so even though I had just eaten chicken and broccoli, rice and pizza topping and was not hungry in the slightest, I decided I needed to eat it instead.  Mid-way through eating the delicious, crunchy fried goodness, I looked up how many points it was.  Not sure if it was a good idea or a bad idea.  It was 14!!  I guess that is what my flex points are for, but I just feel so guilty and right back where I was a few months ago, eating simply because it tasted good.

I know I’ve come a long way from where I was 6 months ago.  I know that instead of sitting on my butt, I’ll get up tomorrow and work myself into a crazy sweat tomorrow evening at zumba.  It just scares me to think of how easy it is or would be to go back to where I was before.  It takes so much hard work to change your life and is so easy to revert back.

I guess I need to cut myself some slack since guilt will only make me want to eat more.  Tomorrow is a new day!  In the meantime, I think I need to go to bed so I don’t eat anymore tonight.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “I ate it! I ate it all!

  1. Becky

    March 22, 2013 at 3:05 am

    Ive got like that at late in the Uk they are weekly points and I used to never go into them but since christmas I seem to be going over by around 8 at day (think points over here are double yours) and as each week passes I just think whats the point, anyway my weight loss is no more. Someone mentioned to me to take up a craft such as knitting or read a book when thinking of food and the adverts

     
  2. 321pounds

    March 23, 2013 at 4:29 am

    Take your own advice and go easy on yourself. If your exercising your body might surprise you by not being affected at all and realize you’re not off track at all. Keep on trying, you’ll get the results you’re looking for soon enough!

     
  3. MyMagicPill

    March 23, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    Don’t beat yourself up. You’re human. It will happen. You will ALWAYS have days when you want to eat everything in sight. Having a day once in awhile is not the end of the world. It will not have a significant impact on your goal longterm. What matters is not whether you are perfect every day, but whether you keep going. Do you give up when you have a binge meal or a binge day or do you shake it off and re-committ to healthy eating in moderation the next day? That is what will make the difference in whether you reach your goal.

     

Leave a Reply

 
