RSS

Trying Not to Think About it

29 Mar

Tomorrow is my first ever 5k!  I never imagined it would be something I would do, but it is a goal I made for myself when I started trying to lose weight.  Eventually I want to be able to run the entire thing, my plan for tomorrow is to finish without stopping.  I’m going to stick to what I’ve been doing on my Sunday runs, and go one telephone at a time.  I run 5 walk 2.  And I use the term run, very loosely (sometimes is a walk in running position).

Last week, when I knew we were going to run 3.1 miles, I drove myself crazy thinking about it, and trying to tell myself that I couldn’t do it.  At this point, I know I can, and so I’m trying not to think about it.

I want to keep myself busy.  This morning I did an early zumba (since my hubby has to work late and we have no one to watch the boys, I had to go, or I would have driven myself crazy), this afternoon I plan to play, play play.

I’m sure when I wake up in the morning I’ll be super nervous.  I don’t know why, I’m not running to win.  I know I can do it, but there is still that doubt in the back of my mind.  I am strong, I am capable and I know when I get to the finish line, which I will, no matter how long it takes me, by boys (all 3 of them; hubby and kids) will be there waiting for me. I can do this!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Trying Not to Think About it

  1. Lea Chew

    March 29, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    I’ll be cheering for you in spirit!

     
  2. atwostoreyhome

    March 29, 2013 at 4:44 pm

    Awesome! You can do it!!

     
  3. palepeacock

    March 29, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    Yes you can, good luck! I’m still working on being able to jog for a mile. I know physically I could do it, but my mind just isn’t there yet. I’ve often told my self the same don’t think just do it. Look forward to reading about how it went. Amy

     
  4. runner unleashed

    March 29, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    dont over think it. relax and youll do fine. it will be over before you know it. You will be in high spirits being around so many different kinds of runners. enjoy it make it fun dont stress it! youll do fine! good luck =)

     
  5. jujudavis1000

    March 29, 2013 at 6:02 pm

    Congratulations! What a great accomplishment!

     
  6. my1sthalf

    March 30, 2013 at 1:37 am

    Good luck! You can definitely do it! I like the telephone method, btw.

     
  7. jamhunt

    March 30, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Looking forward to how you went with your 5k 🙂

     
  8. balteri84

    March 31, 2013 at 1:58 am

    Thank you all for your encouragement! I made it, not quickly but, still! I just posted a blog about it. Doing another one next week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
