RSS

5k Number 2, Check!

07 Apr

Today I did my second 5k.  I don’t know how but I managed to shave 20 seconds off my time from last week.  Not as much as I had hoped, but I am proud of myself.  I was fighting a cold, and it really kicked my butt today.  Not only was I fighting a cold, but it was freezing!  It was probably right around 35 degrees and windy.  It didn’t help that part of the race was across a bridge.  By the time we got to the end of the bridge, my lungs were on fire, my arms were numb from the cold and I couldn’t feel my nose. 

Today, I had a friend from high school running with me.  It was good to have someone to motivate and someone to motivate me.  She did amazing for her first 5k and I was so thankful for her today.  When my lungs were burning from my cold combined with the cold, she kept me moving. 

Another thing that kept me going was knowing I had a cheering section.  I had passed them on the way through, and knew they were waiting for me at the finish line.  They were all wearing “Team Beth” t-shirts with “Courage, Inspiration, Pride” on the back.  They were a surprise this morning. 

While I struggled out of the gate with this race, I felt stronger in general.  There were a lot more hills with this race, a lot more people and it was for sure a lot colder.  I had more obstacles this time around, but I still managed to finish in 20 seconds less than before.

Image

Approaching the finish line, and can you believe I’m smiling?

As we were approaching the last stretch of the race, our “Finish line team” came to help us finish strong.  My running buddy and one of her CrossFit friends met us and helped give that last push we needed.  I still had to walk a little before the finish, but I gave it my all today. 

Today, I felt the pride I was looking for last week.  Maybe it was because of my cheering section, maybe it was because I knew I did the best I could in the situation, or maybe it was having the distraction of someone running with me.  Either way, I’m glad I went, and when I was tempted to stop at the 1 mile marker, I didn’t and that’s something.

Now I just need to find another race that I can do when I’m healthy, so I can kick my race times butt!  I know I did the best that I could today, but I know I can do better!

Image

My cheering section, my brother in law, my 4 year old, my sister in law, my hubby and our 7 month old, my mother in law and father in law. Thanks for coming everyone!

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “5k Number 2, Check!

  1. Kristi

    April 7, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    YAY!! Great job again Beth!

     
  2. janesjournals

    April 7, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks for sharing your experience. I am just starting out!

     
  3. 321pounds

    April 7, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    That’s awesome! Way to power through a freezing 5K. You’re doing great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
