RSS

Me? An Inspiration…?

10 Apr

This morning I headed to my Weight Watchers meeting as is my Wednesday morning ritual.  I weighed in (50 pounds this morning, since mid October!!  Yay!!) and headed into the meeting.

While I was weighing in, I heard the girl in front of me, who has been coming to meetings for a while, (who lost 4 pounds this week) say she decided this past week she was going to really focus and work hard at it. 

On the way out, she stopped me and asked my name.  She then told me, the reason why she decided it was time to get serious is because I have inspired her.  You probably could have knocked me over with a feather.  There are days I struggle to be inspired myself, let alone to inspire other people.

This isn’t the first time someone has told me that in the past month.  I had someone send me a message on facebook that said she had decided to join Weight Watchers because she had seen what I had been doing.  The night I got that message, it brought tears to my eyes.  It has been so hard for me to get here and to know that because I decided I wanted to change my life, someone else might want to do the same, is amazing to me.  I am humbled, and my own motivation is renewed whenever I hear something like this.

Image

I look around me on a regular basis and see so many people that have inspired me.  My sister is one of the most inspiring women I know.  She worked hard to lose weight before she got pregnant with her 3rd child.  After he was born, she mustered up the motivation to do it again.  She is still not to her goal weight, but she is beautiful, just as she has always been, and her motivation is what motivated me to start in the first place.

My running buddy has also been an inspiration to me.  She has done an amazing job getting to a healthier lifestyle.  She has been through some truly life altering experiences that might have left some to let go of their fight but she has battled.  She looks amazing and her strength physically, as well as emotionally amazes me.  She is the reason I started trying to run and the reason I haven’t given up.

My mother has also always been such an inspiration to me.  My whole life she has inspired me because she is my mom, but more than that, she has always taught me how important I was as a person rather than a size.  My mom has battled with her weight for a long time, and has had to deal with some pretty harsh people and judgements because of it.  In my mind, that has only made her stronger and only made her that much more beautiful.

There are so many others who I take inspiration from.  My friends that are no longer here on this Earth are a constant reminder of how blessed I am to be here and that I should never take anything for granted, including my health; my children, who remind me on a daily basis how strong I am and how much I have to live a healthy life for; my husband, who no matter what our lives throw at us, is always my biggest fan; my dad, who would walk through fire for me if I asked him to; my in-laws who were the first (and to this point only) members of “Team Beth.”

You never know when you’re inspiring someone.  You never know when the kick start you give yourself to get out of bed and go to the gym is kick starting someone else, and it doesn’t really matter.  What matters is at the end of the day you inspired yourself, everyone else is a wonderful bonus!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Me? An Inspiration…?

  1. Norma Sowers

    April 10, 2013 at 5:31 pm

    Beth – you inspire me also! My name is Norma, I am your father-in-law Michael’s cousin. We live in Saratoga Springs NY. I knew Michael was following your blog, but it took me a while before I realized that you were Elizabeth (Lucas’ Mom). I am 65 years old and have always had a weight problem, am a diabetic and have some other medical problems. My husband, my daughter Emily, and myself joined WW this past January. We are all trying very hard, but have to try harder, I think. I would say my husband and I are on the program 99% of the time, but the weight is coming off very slow. I’m sure I have the metabolism of a slug so I am going to try walking now that the weather is getting better. I’m not confident enough to go out on my own (feel kind of unsteady) but my husband will go with me. Maybe that will help.
    Just want to say keep up the hard work and your wonderfully positive attitude – that will take you a long way!
    Say hello to my Cuz for me!

     
    • balteri84

      April 10, 2013 at 5:34 pm

      That is great Norma! Sometimes it takes our bodies a while to catch up with us. I don’t know how much water you drink but that really helped me when I was stuck. Either way, even if you’re losing slowly or not losing at all, it’s better than gaining, right (which has happened to me before too!)

       

Leave a Reply

 
