RSS

Not Feeling So Guilty Anymore

03 May

Before I started working out I had a really hard time convincing myself it was ok to take that hour or 2 to leave my kids at home and go to the gym.  Before my second was born, I was working full time and just couldn’t imagine being away from my little man any more than I absolutely had to. 

After the birth of our second, I cut back my hours to part-time, but now instead of sharing my time with work, I was splitting it between 2 children.  It worked as an excellent excuse for me for a long time. 

When I started working out on a regular basis, I still struggled with knowing I was not with my kids.  I had a hard time not rushing home right after work on Monday nights to be with them after being at work all day.  I had to fight the urge to go pick them up from my in-law’s on Wednesdays as soon as 5 o’clock rolled around.  I tried to get up early in the mornings to go before they woke up, but I’m not an early riser and would just use that as another excuse.

Gradually I have found myself feeling a little less guilty about my workouts.  I’m not sure if it’s because I’m getting some much needed me time, or if it’s because I know that these few hours a week I’m spending away from them now is buying me years with them in the future.  All I know is, when 5 o’clock rolls around on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays I look forward to shaking my butt off at zumba, and now on Tuesdays and Thursdays I’m looking forward to my WOD, and then I drive as fast as I can, safely, of course, to get home to my kids.  They are one of the biggest reasons I want to get healthier, and I won’t allow myself to use them as an excuse anymore.  They deserve better, and that is what I’m giving them.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Not Feeling So Guilty Anymore

  1. Mentoring Movement

    May 3, 2013 at 8:41 am

    You’ve stated beautifully what exercise can give you … more quality time with the most important people in your life. Great way to create some powerful motivation for yourself!

     
  2. Julia

    May 3, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    My kids can always tell if I haven’t been running/exercising. They like me better when I do! They actually encourage it now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
