RSS

This is Why I Do Classes

08 May

Yesterday I didn’t make it to my WOD like I had hoped to.  I couldn’t find a sitter for my kids so I had to skip.  I didn’t want to just do nothing, and running wasn’t really an option since my husband didn’t make it home from work much before dark.  So I decided to do a Jillian Michaels workout instead.

It was not the best idea I have ever had, and it reminded me why I go to classes.  I do so much better working out in a group atmosphere.  When I’m working out by myself it’s far too easy for me to just give up.

As I’m doing the workout (in my kitchen, since it’s the most open space I have) I’d think to myself, “Well, I really can’t do a burpee in my kitchen,” or “I don’t have a mat and my feet keep slipping.”  I spent a lot more time sitting on the floor watching than I would like to admit.  Not that I slacked on the whole thing.  I definitely got in a workout and was working up a sweat, I just know I didn’t put in as much as I could have.  That being said, I almost stopped 20 minutes in, but finished the entire 35 minutes.

After I was finished I was reminded how much I sometimes short change myself and how little I give myself credit for when I’m on my own.  I hope someday I will put in as much effort in my kitchen doing a workout as I do in the gym.  In the gym I have other people around me, people who can see if I rest on the floor for more time than I need to, or see when I totally skip one exercise because I don’t really like it.  When I have other people watching me, I don’t do that.  I will give up and let myself down when I’m alone, but I can’t stand the thought of people knowing I can’t do it.

I’m only cheating myself by not putting my whole heart into every workout.  I know I can do it; I’ve done it before.  So tonight at zumba, I’m going to give it everything I have to make up for my lacking workout last night, and going to keep my fingers crossed I find some way to get to WOD sooner rather than later!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “This is Why I Do Classes

  1. shallowself

    May 8, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    you should check out fitness blender on youtube, im actually motivated to push because they are motivating and inspiring and look like normal people no plastic surgery lol but i used to feel like i could only do classes to get in a good workout and now i seem to have found a way eithout them and just learning to push and to put my whole heart in it 🙂 good luck 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
