RSS

Getting Ready to Relay

17 May

2 weeks from today I’ll be lacing up my shoes for Relay for Life.  All the proceeds go to the American Cancer Society, and I can’t think of a better cause to donate to.

Image

I have seen first hand the horrible things that cancer can do.  I have sat through a funeral service, while a 4 year old girl sobbed as photos of her mother, who lost her battle to a brain tumor in her twenties, I have sat in the sun, feeling the breeze, while tears streaked down my cheeks while remembering my best friend, I have seen clumps of hair on her pillow, I have held tightly to a woman who is saying goodbye to the baby girl she brought into the world, and then I have seen miracles. 

Image

I have seen a woman battle leukemia with both fists swinging.  I remember visiting her at the hospital when I was maybe 8 years old, and now 20 years later, she’s pushing 80.  I have seen my aunt and cousin come out on top of thyroid cancer.  I have spoken with people who have had tumors disappear, without any explanation.

Image

I have hope that some day there will be a cure; a cure that doesn’t require pumping the body full of poison.  I pray every night that my boys will stay healthy and that one day, cancer will not be something my children lose a best friend to.  I relay in honor and in memory of those who have heard the words “you have cancer.”  In a couple of weeks, when I line up at Relay, I will be surrounded by people who have won their battle, and people who have lost someone to it.  I will feel the wind on my face, and know that those I have lost are always with me.  I will hope for a day when the world is free of this disease and I will pray that my boys will learn from the strength of the people walking the track with us.

Image

If you would like to donate to help me reach my fundraising goal, every little bit helps!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
