RSS

Lack of Self Control

20 May

It is obvious that I struggle a little bit with self control.  It’s like my brain doesn’t tell my body when it’s full when something tastes good.  I could sit down and eat, and eat, and eat and not even realize that I’m full until 20 minutes after I have eaten it all.

I find myself having to avoid certain foods for that reason.  As far as Weight Watchers goes, I can eat whatever I want, but the problem is I can’t.  When I manage to flex my will power muscles, I want to eat everything else in sight. 

I obviously still manage to stick to my guns most of the time.  I have lost nearly 60 pounds, but my love of food scares me.  I’m so afraid of getting back on that track.  I wonder if I’ll ever be able to eat like a “normal” person.  I often wonder if I’ll ever be able to go to a restaurant and order whatever I want, or if I will always have to watch every bite I put in my mouth.  Will I ever be able to eat a mozzarella stick and be able to stop myself from eating 6 more?  All I know is, right now, I have to limit that kid of thing.  I know it will never be good for me, and I have to keep telling myself, if I’m never able to eat those things, it will be for the best.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Lack of Self Control

  1. Mentoring Movement

    May 20, 2013 at 8:17 pm

    I don’t think there is any such thing as “eating like a ‘normal’ person”. What is normal? What works for one person would pack on an extra twenty pounds on another person. Also, people think that eating anything they want is “normal”. Not really. You can do that, buuuut … there will be consequences. Even if you have the physical activity level of a professional football player, you still have to pay attention to what you eat. You might be able to burn off the calories and not gain weight, but it doesn’t mean the food is good for you. I like this post! It really got me thinking.

     

Leave a Reply

 
