RSS

Mom’s Job to Eat the Left Overs

05 Jun

There are starving children in Africa, right?  That must be why I feel the need to finish my son’s plate every meal that he doesn’t eat every last bite.  I do such a great job portioning out my meals, then the left overs sitting on his plate taunt me until I give it and gobble them up!  It’s never a lot of food.  It’s not like I pile my 4 year old’s plate, but it all adds up.

Part of the problem in my household, is my son tends to graze after he eats.  He might have a half of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich at lunch time, but a half hour later, he will often eat the other half.  If it has been tossed or put away, it is the all time end of the world.  So it just sits there staring at me.

Then there are the days when my sweet boy wants to share.  He’ll have an oreo for desert and he will insist that mama needs some or he’ll be munching on cheese its or goldfish crackers and I don’t want to discourage him from sharing.

I know it’s an excuse.  As I sit here typing, I realize what a horrible excuse it is.  I should be teaching my child to stop eating when he’s full, not accept a snack to be polite and not to eat the left overs so as not to be wasteful (not that I want him to do that either but saving for later is an option not to be ignored).

This past few weeks have been more of a struggle for me than it has been since I started.  The first month of my diet, I didn’t let anything fast food other than salad pass through my lips, I didn’t nibble from my little one’s plate, I didn’t go back out to the kitchen and hover over the left overs picking pieces here and there.  I know losing weight (and keeping it off) is about changing a lifestyle and it is obvious I not only still have some pounds to lose, but I still have work to do on myself, my self control, my eating out of boredom and my guilt for wasting food when there are starving children in Africa.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Mom’s Job to Eat the Left Overs

  1. Theresa

    June 5, 2013 at 3:01 pm

    When you think of the starving children in Africa, ask yourself how you are going to send them that half eaten pb&j and you’ll realize how silly that sounds. Yes you have this food now, in front of you, but it doesn’t mean you have to eat it. Sounds like your son might want to nibble on it later, he sounds like a grazer like me, lol. I eat until I’m full and then I want the rest of the sandwich later. If you really are worried about the starving children in Africa find a charity and donate! Then you won’t feel so guilty ;).

     

Leave a Reply

 
