RSS

Setting a Small Goal

12 Jun

I think one of the biggest things about success in weight loss is setting small goals for myself.  Ones that I know I can achieve, but that help keep me on track and help keep me focused.

Of course in the beginning it’s the first 10 pounds, then it’s 5% and 10%.  When your goal weight seems as huge to accomplish as mine did in the beginning, if I had simply focused on that number, it would have seemed like such a huge wall to climb.  In fact my initial goal seemed so big and impossible, I started with an initial goal of 175 pounds and a coupe months in, I changed it to 150.

Some of the goals I’ve accomplished so far is 5%, 10%, 50 pounds, and my most recent goal (which I shattered, by the way) was to get below 200 pounds before Summer.  I hit that goal at the end of May!  So my next goal is to get my 75 pounds at my weight watchers meeting on July 3rd.  That will put me at 187 pounds.  That is about 7 pounds in 3 weeks.  About 2 pounds a week (which is pretty spot on with my average so I think I can do it). 

I don’t remember the last time I weighed less than 190 pounds.  Once I started gaining weight I stopped stepping on the scale.  I know that will put me right around the weight I was when I got married, and it will put me less than 40 pounds from my goal weight!

This is a goal I know I can attain and I’m super excited to start working on it.  I’ll let you know how it goes!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Setting a Small Goal

  1. Sarah B.

    June 13, 2013 at 1:15 am

    I think setting milestones on your way to a larger goal is an excellent way to stay motivated. Especially once you start working through plateaus. I found your blog through wordpress and look forward to reading more about your journey. I’m hoping you will check out mine as well. – Sarah

     

Leave a Reply

 
