RSS

Death By Burpees

14 Jun

Part of yesterday’s WOD was death by burpees and I was in fact quite certain I was going to die.  It starts with 1 burpee in minute one, then 2 burpees in minute 2 and so on until you can’t get the given number done in the amount of time you have. 

The beginning was so easy.  One burpee then almost a whole minute of rest, but as the amount of burpees goes up, the rest time goes down.  All I kept thinking to myself was, “I cannot be the first one to not make it to the next round.”  When the numbers got higher, and I wanted to stop, or take a longer break between, or got down on the floor and didn’t think I could get back up, I just kept telling myself that.

Thankfully I lived through 8 rounds and was 1 shy of finishing the 9th round.  The best part of that was, everybody stuck at that level (other than the trainer of course).  I may have only done 44 burpees in 8 minutes, (only?! That’s a lot!) and I might have thought I was going to lose my lunch, but I didn’t give up.  Even in the last minute when she said there was 20 seconds left and I knew I wasn’t going to get the 9 I needed, I still kept trying, and all those burpees were a lot easier than they would have been 70 pounds ago. 

ImageThis morning when I went to get out of bed, I noticed a great big bruise on my knee.  Apparently I was so wrapped up in accomplishing my goal, I didn’t notice I banged my knee on the floor.  It isn’t a pretty bruise but I’ll take it.  One of my friends said “If there are no bruises, you didn’t go hard enough.”  I gave it all I had last night and as usual when it comes to WOD, I can’t wait to do it again next week!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
