RSS

On the Run Again

19 Jun

The last few weeks have been crazy busy for us.  Moving has been an easy excuse for me to skip out on my runs.  I’ve managed (for the most part) to keep up with my workouts, but it has been over 3 weeks since I have even attempted to go for a run.  There have been a couple of times I’ve said i was going to try, but it got pushed back by one excuse or another.

I had come so far in the time I was running (far for me, anyway) and when I forced myself out the door, I thought I was going to have lost all the progress I had made.  Before my hiatus, I was running 2 miles at a time, not fast, but running.  In the new place we’re living, it is really easy to just walk out the door and run. 

So that is what I did last night when my hubby got home from work.  It was starting to get dark, but I decided the most it would be is 30 minutes and that was plenty of time.  I had made excuses long enough.

I found myself back in a similar position as a few months ago.  I took about 5 steps and wanted to stop.  I quite honestly thought about turning around after less than a quarter of a mile.  It Sucked!  My legs started to hurt, my lungs were burning and I was less than 5 minutes it.  There was no way I was going to make it a mile, much less 2. 

Then oddly enough, it got better.  Once I made up my mind I was not turning around until it got too dark for safety it was almost as it the suck was a little less.  I broke my own record for my fastest mile time since high school.  It was laughable to most runners (13:53), but it was less than 14 minutes and considering the last 5k I did, took me more than 48 minutes, that’s not bad at all. 

My run keeper app has been a great motivation for me and as always once I hit the mile marker, I slowed down (probably before that, but anyway).  So when my app went off saying my average mile time was 14:07, I wasn’t surprised, but I decided I didn’t wanted to finish strong.  I made a goal for myself to have my average time be faster in the next 5 minutes than it was at the 15 minute mark.

So I did my best to maintain my speed and I’m pretty sure I looked a bit like Rocky when my app went off saying at 20 minutes my average time was faster, barely, but faster (14:03)!!!!

So I kept going.  I started using the cracks in the road to motivate me.  I’d jog one at a normal pace, and dig hard through the next one.  It made the time go by faster, and when my app went off at 25 minutes, my average mile time was 13:56!  I was psyched.  I was exhausted, but I was super psyched. 

I didn’t make it the 2 miles I wanted to.  It got dark and towards the end of my run my I was questioning my safety.  I made it 1.85 miles.  Not bad for having not run in more than 3 weeks.

And while I started out my door dreading going, I had fun trying to beat my own time.  I was proud of myself when I walked through the door (TMI alert: and I was so sweaty, my husband asked me if it has started raining).  Not only that, but according to my app, when I finished I was on a pace of a 12:49 mile.  That is amazing for me since I ran a 12 minute mile in high school.  I proved to myself, my body is capable and I can do more than I think I can.  I was convinced I wouldn’t make it a mile and I made it almost 2 in my best time since I started running.  And I proved that the excuse I was trying to make (it’s been so long and I’m not going to be able to go as far as I did before) is not acceptable and when you set your mind to something, it’s not necessary.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “On the Run Again

  1. evrydaydiva

    June 24, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Hi! I’m just done reading through your entire blog, I’ve just started my own and found your posts a great read and very inspiring. I’ve been trying to get an exercise regime going but not with much luck but WOW if you can fit all that in while working and looking after 2kids I’ve absolutely no excuse!

    So halfway through your posts I went online and found a 5km fun run to sign up to, I’ve never done a run before, I find it hard to run over long periods of time so my goal is to run the entire thing even if it’s walking speed like you’ve said! I live in Dublin so the run is actually out at Dublin airport in August right before I go on holiday to Orlando!

    Anyway just wanted to post to say that you’re doing great and you’ve achieved so much already, I’ll be following you now and look forward to your next post!

     
    • balteri84

      June 25, 2013 at 2:40 am

      So glad to hear this! Whenever I do a 5k, I set myself a realistic goal then race against myself. I know I’m not coming in first but if I’m achieving what I set out to, as cheesy as it sounds, I’m still winning! Good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
