RSS

Really Hit the Ground Running

25 Jun

The other day I went out for a run for the first time in over 3 weeks.  I shocked myself at how I did.  I was expecting to be dragging but I pushed myself and I felt great afterwards.

My exercise routine was a little thrown off this week because my hubby and I went to a concert on Friday night.  That meant no zumba.  I had told myself I would get up on Friday morning and run.  That didn’t happen.  I’m just not a morning workout person.  Don’t get me wrong, I can hit the gym in the morning, I just can’t haul my butt out of bed to do it.

So I decided to do a 5k on Saturday morning.  It was a spur of the moment decision, but I knew if I didn’t do it, I wouldn’t get my exercise in and then I would feel crumby all weekend.  So I laced up my shoes and headed out.

It was hot.  Not super hot, prob 70-75 but in the sun I was sweating before the race even started.  I was feeling a little intimidated knowing it was a hilly run.  Even the experienced runners were talking about the steep hills.  Let’s just say I was not expecting much.  My goal for the day was to beat the time from my last 5k, and since it was my worst 5k time, I figured I should be able to do that.

I have an app on my phone that tells me how far I’ve gone, how long and my average mile pace.  The first time her voice toned out at the 5 minute marker, I thought she must have been tracking someone else.  My fastest mile time has been about 13:30-14 minutes.  She said my average mile time was 12:28 seconds.  I was certain she was wrong.  Of course I slowed down as I went and hit that 13-14 minute average soon there after, but at that point I didn’t even feel like I was running any harder or faster than any other time.

The hills were most definitely brutal.  This was not my race to run the entire distance without stopping to walk.  I have gone more than 2 miles without stopping to walk and I barely made it to 1.5.  The turn around was right after a brutally steep hill and I managed to run up half of it but I knew if I didn’t walk, I might not live through the rest of the race (of course that’s an exaggeration but at the time a perfectly logical excuse).  I slowed to walk a couple more times after that.  I wish I hadn’t stopped the first time since it was so much harder getting started again after that, but when I finished the race I was proud of myself.

I shaved more than 6 minutes off my last 5k time and more than minutes off my fastest.  While 43:34 is not fast to a lot of runners, it is to me.  I have been amazed by that time since Saturday, and while I have never been a runner and always dreaded it, I’m really starting to love the accomplishment I feel when I meet or exceed a goal I set for myself. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
