RSS

Hurt So Good

12 Jul

Yesterday was a WOD day.  It had been a few weeks since I had been and at first I thought about skipping again because I was having a great day with my little family, but I decided I really need to go; I really wanted to go, and it was AMAZING!

I’m pretty sure when I left, I felt every muscle in my body and I had sweat off at least 5 pounds.  We had 10 rounds that included the dreaded man maker.  It was another one of those nights when I got 3 rounds in and there would be no way I could do all 10 rounds.  I may have been the last one finished, but I finished.  There were a few times when I got down on the floor while doing my man makers that I just laid there thinking there was no way I was going to get back up, no way I was going to be able to keep breathing, but with a little motivation from the instructor/trainer, I did.

Every time I do WOD, it is painful, it’s hard, it’s sweaty and it seems impossible, but then I count down the days to when I get to do it again.  I wish my schedule allowed me more than once a week, but once is better than nothing, right?

Image

Wearing a pair of size 12 Bermuda shorts and a medium tank top from a 22 and a 2x!

On another note, my husband and I left our kids with a sitter yesterday (this is very rare) and went to do some shopping.  It was mostly window shopping but since I’ve gone for a 22 to a 12 (YAY!) nothing fits me.  I don’t think it has ever felt so good to try on clothes.  There is something about going into a fitting room and trying on a large shirt and having switch it for a medium.

For the first time in a really long time, even since I started shedding pounds, I felt good about myself.  I felt good about the clothes I was wearing and I didn’t have to say, “they don’t have that in my size.”  Yesterday, the 1.8 pounds I gained last week didn’t matter at all.  It wasn’t about a number on the scale, but about how if felt to put on size 12s, which is the same size I was wearing in high school.

I’m still not comfortable enough in my own skin to wear regular shorts.  There are still a few too many dimples in my thighs and some sagging skin that just makes me feel like I’d be one of those girls that people see and whisper, “she shouldn’t be wearing those.”  Maybe I’ll get there before the end of the summer!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
