RSS

To the Moon and Back

07 Aug

As a mama of 2 beautiful boys who I adore more than words could ever say, I know sometimes I get so caught up in the wonder of the miracle of those little men I forget to appreciate the man who gave them to me. 

I get to share my life with an amazing man, who stole my heart from the very first minute I met him.  He was wearing his Army uniform, and while he was not my usual type, he was handsome and he made me smile.  From that night on, we spent any and all our free time together, and only about a month an a half after we met, he knelt down on one knee in the snow and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him. 

Image

This was taken Thanksgiving the year we met. We had been together about a month and were only about 2 weeks away from getting engaged.

Less than a year later, through tears of joy, we held tight to each others hands in front of God, our families and our friends and vowed to love each other for as long as we both shall live. 

Image

Our first son was born about a year and a half later and while our love has changed, it has never failed.  It may not be the passion filled romance it once was.  Instead of stealing kisses in line at the grocery store, we chase kids.  Our date nights may be fewer and further between but I have grown to love him for more reasons than I ever thought possible.

Image

When I looked into his eyes on our wedding day, I was certain I could never love him more than I did in that moment, but I couldn’t have been more wrong.

My husband has loved me in all shapes and sizes.  I don’t recall many days of my life since meeting my hubby that I have not heard the words, “You are beautiful.”  Even when I gained 60 pounds in the first year of our marriage (thanks to health issues, those 60 were gained before I even got pregnant), when I was round a feeling like a whale with our first son and a beached whale with our second… he rubbed my feet (he hates feet) when they swelled to monstrous sizes, rubbed my back when heart burn kept me up at all hours of the night then held my hand through hours of labor.

Image

The first time I saw him hold our baby boy in his strong arms, I fell in love all over again.  He helped me through sleepless nights, poopy diapers, days without time to shower, and still told me I was beautiful, and never stopped looking at me like I was the most amazing person on the planet.

He was there with my on the day we were went to see our second baby on ultrasound, only to find we would never hold this baby in our arms.  He stayed strong, while I fell apart, even though I know how much pain he was in.  When I felt like I had failed as a woman, and as a mother, he still treated me as though I was Superwoman.

He put up with months of hormones while we tried and failed for several months to conceive again.  While I went from loving wife, to emotional wreck, to downright mean, he never lost his patience with me, and on the day our second son was born, I fell even deeper. 

Image

In those months since we welcomed our second son into the world, things are only more complicated.  We struggle from week to week to make ends meet, we often sit on other sides of the living room, and sleep with at least 1, sometimes 2 children between us.  We may not make it out on “dates” on a regular basis, but everyday I love him more.  I don’t know what I did to deserve such an amazing love, but every minute I spend with him is more special than the last.

Image

Whenever his brown eyes look into mine, when he takes my hand in the car, when he wraps me in his arms just before we fall asleep, I fall all over again.

We may have fallen into the comforts of an ordinary life, but that does not mean we have fallen out of an extraordinary love. 

Image

I love you baby, to the moon and back.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “To the Moon and Back

  1. philip

    August 7, 2013 at 8:58 pm

    It’s all puzzle pieces.

     
  2. Beverly

    August 7, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    boy you certainly know how to bring a tear to a proud momma’s eyes.

     
  3. Cindy Lash

    August 8, 2013 at 1:13 am

    This is so sweet Beth!!

     
  4. briapittman

    August 8, 2013 at 12:26 pm

    This is so sweet. I consider myself blessed to have an amazing husband as well. Even when I gained a ton of weight he never, not once told me I needed to lose weight. Thank God for awesome husbands 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
