RSS

Trying to Determine my Goal

16 Aug

I’ve done a lot of thinking over the past few days about what my weight loss and health goals are and what they should be. 

When I started my weight loss journey it was all about that number on the scale and since I started working out, that number has become less important to me.  I’m still seeing the numbers on the scale dropping consistently which is awesome, and there is still a part of my that desperately wants that number to keep dropping.  I’m down to 177 from 262, I’m also down from a size 22 to a 10/12.  The changes I have seen in my body are amazing to me. 

That being said, according to my BMI, until this past Wednesday, I was still obese and am now sitting at the highest end of overweight.  Looking at myself, I don’t see it.  Maybe it’s because I’m high on endorphins from exercise, or blinded like I used to be, but I don’t see myself as being that overweight.  I know according to that 177 number I am…

Image

According to my BMI, this is me a couple weeks ago, OBESE

That being said, according to web MD (I know it’s an internet resource, trust as much as you want) a better assessment of health for someone who is muscular or pear shaped (that’s me!) is the waist-to-height ratio.  It says that anything below a .5 ratio is considered healthy.  The number on Web MD is based on your height and pants size.  Depending on where the pants are from, my ratio is between .51 and .49 which is HEALTHY! 

Another indication of my health is my percentage of body fat.  I repeated the assessment done about a month ago at the Y.  At that point I was 34.9% body fat, and yesterday morning, I was 30.2% (lost more than 4% body fat in a month!)  According to multiple online sources a healthy range for a woman my age is 21-32%  Again, HEALTHY!

According to my BMI, to be healthy I still need to lose about 31 pounds.  So here I am wondering which number to go with.  To get lifetime membership at Weight Watchers, I need to lose that 31 pounds, or get a note from a doctor saying what my ideal weight should be instead.  I’m thinking I’m going to make an appointment to talk about it with my doc.  I’m still losing pounds on a consistent basis, but I don’t want to get to that point where I hit a wall and get frustrated, and I don’t want to push my body to lose pounds when I’m already healthy, or close to it. 

Anyone else had a similar situation?  What number did you go with.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Trying to Determine my Goal

  1. gypsysoul..

    August 16, 2013 at 3:44 pm

    going through a bad bad time losing weight. i hope i find a way to lose as much as you have but health problems keep coming in the way and i can’t get back to working out as much as i’d like to. good luck with your journey and good health 🙂
    regards
    A.D! 🙂
    http://nomadfashionista.wordpress.com/

     
    • balteri84

      August 16, 2013 at 3:55 pm

      It’s not easy, and I think part of my success is I have been able to keep things rolling along pretty quickly, so I haven’t really had a lot of time to deal with the discouragement of getting stuck. Good luck to you! I hope you get everything sorted out!

       
  2. somuchfattitude

    August 16, 2013 at 4:22 pm

    Yes, I’m in that same situation! My doctor says I shouldn’t lose more than another 25lbs but WW says to lose 50 or get a note. I figure that once I lose 25lbs I’ll get a note from my doctor and then figure out if I want to lose more or not.

     

Leave a Reply

 
