RSS

After 2 Babies, Gaining Then Losing More Than 90 Pounds, It Fits

09 Sep

Every girl dreams about her wedding dressing.  The brilliant white fabric, the beads, the train, feeling like a princess… I was no different when I went to pick out my dress.  2 in and I found it.  It fit me like a glove and the only alterations I needed were to make the straps a little shorter. 

I would have worn that dress everywhere, all the time if it were a socially acceptable thing to do.  When I walked down the isle in that gown, I knew I was not only so very lucky to be marrying a man who would love me through everything, but that I looked gorgeous.  It was one of the few days in my life that I would say I looked stunning.  I’m not a super self confident person, but that dress made me feel amazing.

Image

God I loved that dress, and the Jaguar…well, you know, the man is pretty loveable too!

It was not long after our wedding before that dress no longer fit me.  It was a tight squeeze on my wedding day, and within a week of our wedding, I started gaining weight.  The last few years, fitting in the dress has been nothing more real than a memory, and in more recent years, a laughable one.  I never tried, because that dress was full of so many wonderful memories for me, but I’m sure it wouldn’t have even gone up over my hips and if it had, my arms would have possibly not fit through the holes and the back would have probably needed at least 8 inches of fabric added before the two sides would even touch.

Image

Sucking in to get the dress to zip on my wedding day

Yesterday, post run (yes I did FINALLY run, and am feeling it today, but that’s another post for another time), I decided to try it on.  I know I’m fairly close to pre-wedding weight, but I thought after babies, the form fitting top may not ever fit again. 

I headed down into the room that used to be mine at my parent’s house where my dress was hanging.  It was just as amazing as I remembered it being.  My mom had taken it to the dry cleaner for me, and the white seemed to sparkle in the closet.  I took it off the hanger, stepped in an pulled it up.  With some assistance from my hubby, it zipped…all the way!  It was such an amazing feeling!  There was not much extra room for anything else to fit and the zipper didn’t slide up as easily as it once did, but it zipped and I could breathe! 

Image

I headed up to show my parents and my son my “princess” dress.  My 4 year old jumped up and down and asked if he could hug me in my beautiful dress.  He wrapped his arms around my neck and told me how pretty I was, and I actually felt it.  That dress still has the power to make me feel amazing.  My hair was all over the place and sticking to my head from my sweaty run but it didn’t matter, I felt beautiful.

Image

If I wouldn’t get so many strange looks, you can bet I would have worn that gown to work today, and if I wasn’t sure it would be covered in crayon, food and hand prints, I would be sitting in my living room in a gorgeous white dress.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “After 2 Babies, Gaining Then Losing More Than 90 Pounds, It Fits

  1. hypnosis65

    September 9, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    You look like a princess! Beautiful! May you have 100 years of happiness!

     
  2. Kim Y

    September 9, 2013 at 9:04 pm

    Looking awesome Beth! 🙂

     
  3. Jamie

    September 10, 2013 at 2:56 pm

    so proud of you my beautiful friend!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
