RSS

I Think I Can

23 Sep

This coming weekend is what will likely be my last 5K until next spring.  If you’ve seen any of my past posts about running, this is not my favorite activity, but when I started running for the first time this spring, I set a goal of running an entire 5K without stopping to walk.

I was on quite a roll for a while and have managed I think four races so far this year.  One of the last ones I did, I was so close to that goal I thought it would be a cake walk to accomplish my goal.  Now here I am, at the end of September, with one last 5K  I’m signed up for and I have yet to accomplish that goal.

The first 5K’s that I ran I didn’t really do any training.  I went for one run a week and when I started I couldn’t even go a mile without stopping to walk.  At one point, I knew I could go 2.5 miles, no problem without stopping to walk, and then I stopped running.  Apparently even once a week was better than no at all.  This past couple of weeks I have tried really hard to get back in the swing and to get my distance back up there.  At this point, I’m back up to 2.3 miles, but I’m struggling.

I think a lot of my problem is in my own head.  I know it is going to be mind over matter, or mind over body.  I know I am capable, but I’m just getting in my own way.  I can do this.  Whether I hit the road again before my race or not, I am capable.  I just have to keep reminding myself, I can do this.  I am strong and I’m certainly stronger than I was 3 months ago.  I’ve got this…right?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I Think I Can

  1. gypsysoul..

    September 23, 2013 at 8:43 pm

    Good luck 🙂 hubby and I have also set 5k to be done by the end of the year 😀 but i havent even got to a 1k yet 😛 hehe. but hopefully we will get there too 😀

     
  2. playfulpups

    September 23, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    So much of it is mental!! I really have to psyche myself up to run somedays- when I do, (and when I wear my favorite running outfit lol) I can run so much longer! 🙂 Good luck to you~ you can do it!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
