RSS

Glimpses of Who I Used to Be

04 Nov

If you are what you eat, I got glimpses of the person I used to be this past week.  I have had so much success in my weight loss journey that these past few weeks of stuck are really getting to me.  In my quest to find the right balance of calories I have in fact found all the wrong foods.

On Friday, I found myself laying on the couch, munching on my kids’ Halloween candy.  As it always works, 1 piece lead to 2, to 3 and before I knew it, I had consumed my calories and not in a healthy way. 

That same day, I had slept through spin.  I just couldn’t lift my head off the pillow, so after my alarm went off at 5, I turned it off and stayed in bed until about 7. 

Saturday didn’t get any better for me. Those snack sized peanut butter cups sit on the table and call my name so loudly, it is almost impossible to silence them, and while I saw glimpses of my former self laying on the couch munching on mini Musketeers; I have to remind myself that the old me wouldn’t have stopped.  I would have had 4 times as much before.  I would have poured myself a tall glass of milk (not fat free milk for sure), sat down with a full sized bag of M&Ms, 3-4 peanut butter cups, a handful of Musketeers and a few Twix.  Later, every time I walked through the kitchen, I would have grabbed another piece. 
This would have all followed a Halloween night full of munching and indulging.  I would have been that mom who ate all of her kids candy.

So yesterday, I did something the my former self never would have done; I hauled my butt to the gym and while it was only a half an hour, I got my sweat on. 

Thank God everyday is a new day.  Yesterday after my quick trip to the gym, I had a great day.  Only candy was a Tootsie Pop, 1 point and worth it!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 4, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Glimpses of Who I Used to Be

  1. briapittman

    November 4, 2013 at 3:27 pm

    Good job getting back at it 🙂 The more I continue on my journey I’m learning that I am on the road to imperfect progress. The thing that matters most is that I keep going. Good for you and thanks for sharing. Very encouraging 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
