RSS

Bye Bye Buffer

10 Feb

I’m at my lifetime membership for Weight Watchers and I like to keep a little buffer for myself as far as pounds go.  If I can help it, I like to be at least 5 pounds below my goal weight to allow for different scales and the occasional fluid retention and splurge.  That being said, the past 2 weeks, splurge has been used a bit more and tracking a bit less and all of the sudden, bye bye buffer. 

An analogy I heard from a leader that I have used in my meetings is comparing a bad choice such as a meal or snack as being like spilling milk.  You wouldn’t then pour out the entire jug.  Let’s just say in the past couple of weeks, I have dumped many a jug of milk. 

So it was not a huge surprise to me when I stepped on the scale and the 7 pound buffer I had built was down to 2 pounds (a dangerous place to be since I add at least 1 pound for the Weight Watchers scale).  I know with maintenance, it doesn’t matter if I gain a pound or 5 as long as I’m still below that goal number, but even though I’m happy where I am and OK with not losing any more weight, the idea of gaining evening a pound is not something I want to do, even if it’s just shrinking the buffer I’ve built.  I’m afraid that 5 pounds will lead to 10 which will lead to 20 and before you know it, I’ve slid right back to somewhere I don’t want to be.  So today it’s back to tracking.  No more spilling milk, and if I do spill a drop, I’m not going wild and dumping the whole jug. 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Bye Bye Buffer

  1. Karen Bodiford

    March 17, 2014 at 1:22 am

    Good for you. You have a healthy attitude about your weight. You story if very inspiring. Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
