RSS

Will I Ever Run Again?

22 Mar

Last year I made a decision that I wanted to run a 5K without stopping to walk.  I met that goal in September and told myself if I never ran again, I would be OK with that, and I was for a while, and now here I am, the third day of spring (FINALLY!) and I already have at least two 5Ks I’m planning on running this year.

The problem is, now that I have run a 5K start to finish without stopping to walk, I don’t want to go back.  My first (at this point) race is the Color Run on June 22nd.  I still have time but I’m getting antsy to train.  You might wonder why I don’t just go ahead and start training.  So here’s my reasoning/excuses.  I am (or have convinced myself) I am unable to run on a treadmill.  I don’t maintain my speed in the slightest and I’m terrified I’m going to fall off.  I know I probably won’t but I watched a few too many of America’s Funniest Home Videos as a kid, and to me, this just does not seem funny… Also, this has been an insanely longer winter.  Just when it starts to look like the roads might be clear enough or the temperature above 10 degrees, it drops back into the deep freeze or snows.  I know a lot of people who will run, no matter what the conditions, but I will be the first to admit, I’m not that committed.  In fact, while I like the feeling of accomplishment after, I hate the act and the anticipation of it, I can find nearly any reason to talk myself out of it.

So why do I want to run?  It is a HUGE challenge for me and a major exercise both physically and mentally.  I can make it through many of my workouts because I do a lot of them in a group setting, but when I run, it’s just me, the road and my thoughts, and while that is good for some people, it’s not so good for me.  I want to stop after the first step and that doesn’t not a 5K complete.  Here’s hoping Mother Nature will stop helping me make excuses soon!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
