RSS

I Think I’ve Lost my Ever Running Mind

02 Apr

Anyone who has read any of my blogs is well aware that I don’t consider myself a “runner.”  I guess that is about to change.  Last year I set a goal for myself to run a 5K without stopping to walk and I told myself, once I accomplished that, I didn’t care if I never ran again, ever!  I’ve dreaded running this season, but I have a couple of 5Ks I’m already planning to do, so I knew I had to get out there.  Unlike last year, after my first run this past weekend, I felt good; I felt strong, and since I’ve already run a 5K, I wanted to set my goal for myself a little higher this year. 

My little higher went a little higher, and then a little higher, and now here I am, setting my mind on a half marathon.  Just typing the words chokes me up.  I’m terrified.  I’m not a fast runner, I’m not a strong runner and I dread running for the same reason I force myself to do it; it challenges me.  It challenges me more than most other types of physical activity.  I have to beat my brain when I run, and that is tougher than the act itself. 

So here’s my plan, as it stands right now, depending on how my training goes.  There is a local 5K this weekend, which I’m pretty sure I’ll end up doing, then from there, I want to run at least 6 miles a week for a couple of weeks.  I’m not following any type of training plan, just my own body at this point.  I figure 2 5Ks a week will push me further than I’ve pushed myself before when it comes to running and I’ll work my way up from there.  I have my sites on a 6-miler in July and by then I should be good to go the 6 miles.  Right now I have my sites set on a half in September.  I figure that will give me plenty of time to train even with my excuses, because you know there’s not a very big window of it being warm enough to run before it’s too hot to run. 

I wanted to put this out on my blog because it will help me stick to it.  Right now, I’m excited about the idea but I know along the way my excitement will fade a bit until right before my races.  I am fully aware I will be racing against myself, and I can’t wait to win. 

Note: My ultimate goal (for next year) is to do a marathon.  I started my weight loss journey at 262 pounds, so it seems very fitting I would run 26.2 miles.  This year, it’s training for the half and as soon as next spring hits, I’m training for the whole thing.  Wait a minute, who am I?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “I Think I’ve Lost my Ever Running Mind

  1. Gary Bell

    April 2, 2014 at 2:37 pm

    It’s here now, we can all see it. No backtracking!!! Good luck with it all.

    You have to set your goals higher if you ever want to improve, and that’s what you’ve done every step of the journey so far. I’m working on the 5K without walking thing, hoping to build up to 10K after that. I might go up to half marathon and then marathon, but I want a sub-hour 10k long before then

     
  2. Beverly

    April 2, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    I know you can do it if you put your mind to it, maybe Philip will get back into running again with you

     

Leave a Reply

 
