RSS

Humbling Fame

28 Apr

(NOTE: the orange linked words are the videos from the show)

I posted recently about being invited to be on the Rachael Ray Show as a guest for a makeover.  The show has since aired and while I thought maybe I’d believe it happened after I saw it on TV, I still don’t.  It was such a whirlwind experience; a once in a lifetime, but the most amazing part about the entire thing wasn’t the trip to New York City or the makeover, it was the response from family, friends and people I don’t even know.

Image

Over the last couple of weeks, I have been completely overwhelmed.  I have gotten so many comments and messages of support, and compliments.  While I’m a lot more comfortable in my own skin than I was a year and a half ago, I still am not much for being the center of attention.  When someone comes up to me to talk about it, I tend to let it roll like it’s no big deal; not because it’s no big thing to me, but because I don’t know how to handle the attention.  It’s also an amazing thing to me that people think of me as an inspiration.  I know losing more than 100 pounds with diet and exercise alone in a little over a year is not an easy thing to do.  I have struggled, I have said no to things I wanted, done things I didn’t want to, worked out on days I would have preferred to sleep in, and fought a battle with my mind to realize, I’m not a failure, but to me, I simply did what I needed to do to survive, for myself and for my family.  Hearing I inspire others, has really become inspiration for me; inspiration to keep going, keep trying.

I was able to watch the Rachael Ray Show with some of the most amazing people in my life; women who have inspired me; my mother who has battled hormone cause weight problems for much of her adult life, she taught me how to be a mother, a wife and how to be tough as nails; my sister who has fought her own weight loss battles who was the reason I started going to Weight Watchers to begin with; cousins who have been my best friends growing up and have struggled with their own weight battles along the way, an aunt who was like a second mom to be growing up; my mother in law who has cheered me along the way and who raised an amazing son whom I never could have done any of this without (more on him in a minute); my 2 grandmothers who are both strong and beautiful women;  men who have cheered me on and encouraged me including my father in law who was my zumba partner for a while and my husband who has been amazing, telling my I was beautiful and believing it even when I was at my heaviest.  I couldn’t have done any of this without him; my children are the main reason I started pushing myself the way I did, and a friend who has shown immense courage and strength fighting her own weight loss battle.

While these people filled my living room, people all throughout my community were watching as well.  My aunt called immediately following and we shared sobs over the phone; and the messages that came in on my facebook page were astounding.  Words cannot even begin to describe how moved I was by the response from everyone.  I had people message me saying I had inspired them to get started or to not give up, I had people encouraging me and congratulating me on what I’ve accomplished.  My life has changed so much in the last 18 months and it all started with the decision that I wanted to be a healthier mama for my kids, myself and my husband.  That is what helped me lose the pounds.  What I have found out about myself along the way is what has changed my outlook forever.  I know I am stronger and capable of so much more than I have ever given myself credit for and I look forward to pushing myself further in the future, for now, thank you all for your support and for inspiring me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Humbling Fame

  1. stitchinstein

    April 28, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    Congratulations! I need to find the RR episode! I so want to see it. Thanks for being an inspiration.

     
    • balteri84

      April 28, 2014 at 5:37 pm

      The links in the blog in blue (it said orange) are the links to the video

       

Leave a Reply

 
