RSS

Reflections in the Mirror

19 May

I was reading something the other day about maintenance and how after the newness of weight loss has worn off, you start to feel like you’re getting heavier again.  While your weight may not have moved an ounce on the scale, you start to feel like you’re putting back on some of the pounds that you’ve lost.  I’ve been fighting that feeling for a few weeks now.  I got t my goal weight back in November and was thrilled with that, then decided I had 5 more pounds I could lose, then 5 more… I’m not 10 pounds under my goal and while the scale hasn’t moved, I feel like I’ve gained.

Maybe it’s because I’ve gotten used to losing.  For the past year and a half, every time I stepped on the scale I wanted the number to be going down…maybe I’m searching for the sense of accomplishment I always got when I had a good weigh in.  Whatever it is, I find myself content for a couple weeks, then wanting to take off a couple more, then maybe a couple more.  It’s got me thinking, will I ever be totally satisfied with my own body image?  Will it ever be enough?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Reflections in the Mirror

  1. mybodymytime

    May 19, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    You have to be satisfied within focus on the feeling not the number

     
    • balteri84

      May 19, 2014 at 6:42 pm

      You are so right. I think I really need to focus on setting fitness goals for myself.

       
      • mybodymytime

        May 19, 2014 at 6:58 pm

        Just make sure that they are reachable

         

Leave a Reply

 
