RSS

Half Marathon Training’s a Pain

25 Jul

I finally started my half marathon training about 2 months after I said I was going to. I guess better late than never, right? I’m a week in to the training program and already struggling. I was born without a hip socket and when I was a few months old, doctor’s built one for me. My doctor was shocked when I didn’t have a limp as an adult.
That being said, this last couple of days after running 9 miles (3 every other day) in 5 days, I was walking with a bit of a limp thanks to my hip. Tuesday night my entire leg hurt.
So my plan from here is not to give up. The old me would have felt a tinge of pain and it would have been all talked over. While I don’t want to injure myself I want to allow myself the chance to work through it. I took my 2 rest days as I was supposed to, and took them off from everything.
Tonight is a 3 mile run and tomorrow a 5-miler. I’m going to go from there. The training is the most grueling part so I know have have options as far as tweaking the training schedule and such, so we’ll see. Wish me luck. P.S. I’m pretty sure my mile time is actually getting longer and the term “easy run” will never be a part of my vocabulary.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
