RSS

Thinking I Could Conquer the World

28 Jul

This weekend was my first “long run.” While I consider 3 miles a long run, I know when it comes to training for distance, 3 miles is nothing. I got my 3 miles in on Friday night and Saturday was supposed to be my 5 mile day and while it might have just been excuses, after zumba in the morning (I was the instructor for a fundraiser), it was so hot in my house, I just couldn’t motivate to do it. I knew I’d be out sweating my butt off, only to come home to no relief, so I postponed it.
I knew if I let more than 1 day get away from me, my motivation to get back on training track would quickly disappear. So I got up Sunday morning and decided to head to the Y. While treadmill training is not my favorite thing to do, I knew there would be AC and that was my motivation.
Running on a treadmill has always been a fear of mine. I’m always afraid I’m going to fall off and I always feel like it’s moving too fast for me to keep up. My speed varies a lot when I run, so staying at the steady pace of the treadmill is a challenge in itself. But I did it! I ran on the treadmill and didn’t fall off! I didn’t even feel like I was going to (it’s the simple victories)!
I got my 5 miles in and while I can honestly say I didn’t run the entire thing (I think I might have walked about a mile of it) I didn’t stop and as amazing as it was to me, it got easier the further I went. I have heard people say that once you get past the first 3 miles, it gets easier but I didn’t believe it until yesterday. When I finished my run, I was going about 1 mph faster than I was when I started.
After I stepped off the treadmill, I felt so accomplished. This was my furthest distance and I felt strong, I didn’t feel sore, and I wasn’t nearly as exhausted as I expected. With my 5K time seeming to slow down during this training process so far, I was beginning to doubt I would be able to accomplish my half goal but yesterday boosted my confidence and I know if I keep at it and don’t give up on it, I can get there. I left feeling like I could do whatever I set my mind to, like I could conquer the world, instead I conquered my kitchen and scrubbed the floor on my hands and knees, while trying to convince my children to stay in the living room. I’m not sure what was the better workout 😉

While the treadmill says 4 I actually went at least 5.25.  I accidentally reset the treadmill about 1.25 miles in.

While the treadmill says 4 I actually went at least 5.25. I accidentally reset the treadmill about 1.25 miles in.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
