RSS

Just What I Needed

08 Sep

I was finally able to get out and run my 10 miles on Sunday.  I was really dreading it but I was trying to keep any and all negativity out of my mind.  With less than 3 weeks to my half marathon and a lot of set backs over the past couple of weeks, I really needed a running victory.  I was starting to doubt myself and I needed to prove to the voices in my own head that I was capable if I just give it everything I have.  The problem is, that voice in my head saying everything I have wouldn’t be enough was getting a little too loud and I needed to shut it down.

With a stuffy nose still hanging from my end of summer cold, I left my house aiming for 10 but thinking I would be OK if I got 10.  I got just what I needed in those 10 miles yesterday, I got my confidence back.  The first 1:15 I felt good. I felt strong.  I’m not sure when the shift happened but at some point 6 miles (while it’s not ‘easy’) has become a lot less of a struggle.  I wasn’t in extreme amounts of pain, I wasn’t melting, I wasn’t comfortable, but I didn’t feel like I was dying.  At my half marathon (as I’ve mentioned before because it is haunting me) I have 1:15 to make it to the halfway point.  Yesterday, I was at 6.39 miles in 1:15.  I still have some shaving to do, but I was pretty pleased with that, especially with this cold still hanging out.  Race day adrenaline will also help with that I’m sure. 

The last 3.61 were slow (like 12-14 minutes slow) but I didn’t walk one step of it.  When I stopped at 10 miles, I was ready to be done, but I could have pushed further if I needed to.  I was so proud I didn’t walk at all since during my 9 mile run a couple weeks back, I walked from about 7.5 miles on.  Afterwards, my calves were cramping pretty good but otherwise, I wasn’t sore or exhausted like I expected.  I guess this means I have trained well and in the right way.

I was hoping to get 11 this coming Sunday, but a trainer I was talking to today said with only 3 weeks to race, I should be starting my taper and that running 11 miles the week before the race is not a good idea.  So I guess that’s it; my last big run before the big race.  I know everyone has different theories on how and when to taper but I’m going to trust her on this one because I feel stronger in the weeks I skip a long run (had to do it twice during training, missed last Sunday the 1st and another long run a couple weeks before that).  My focus for the next 2 weeks is going to be that first 1:15 minutes.  I know as long as I make it t the halfway point by then (if not I get bussed back to the finish line) I will have no problem finishing before the 3 hour race cap.

I wanted to get to the higher number of miles, but I don’t want my body to be so worn down by training I can’t make good at the event itself.  I’m told if I can run 6 miles, I can run 13.1 so I guess if I can run 10, I can make it that last 3.1 miles.  Here’s hoping and here’s to enjoying short runs for the next couple of weeks. 

This training has really put some things in perspective for me.  At this time last year, I hadn’t completed a 5K without stopping to walk, now I’m a 5K away from completing a half marathon.  As I was running so slowly that last 3 miles yesterday, I thought to myself, this is how you ran last year.  It was hard, it was painful and it was exhausting but I’m a different person now.  The old me gave up before she ever started.  Even more perspective, this time 2 years ago, I weighed over 262 pounds.  I’ve come a long way and have 13.1 miles to go (for this goal).  I got this!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 8, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
